How to Get Your Real Estate License in Texas


  • Citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted alien
  • 18 years of age or older
  • Meet TREC’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
  • Complete a total of 180 classroom hours of mandatory qualifying real estate courses, and pass the License exams

Step One: File an Application with TREC to Become a Sales Agent

Submit an application and fee to the Texas Real Estate Commission to become a Sales Agent. This may be done online or by U.S. mail. As part of the process, you will submit your education course completion certificates to TREC at

The estimated time to complete the application process is 2-4 weeks.

Step Two: Get Fingerprints Taken and Pass the Background Check

The law requires fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. A license will only be issued if the background check is passed.  You will need a TREC entity number to make an appointment. See the TREC fingerprint requirements here.

Step Three: Complete 180 hours of Pre-Licensing Education

Complete your pre-licensing education in as little as three weeks. Ask about our discount for first responders and veterans.

You must complete the following courses:

  • Principles of Real Estate I: $160
  • Principles of Real Estate II: $160
  • Law of Contracts: $160
  • Real Estate Finance: $160
  • Law of Agency: $160
  • Texas Promulgated Contract: $160
  • Exam Prep Edge: $99

All instructor-led pre-licensing courses are delivered through our Xcelerated Learning (blended learning program). Complete half of the course work for the six classes required for licensing at home and the other half of the six courses (15 hours each) in the classroom at REALTOR® Academy or virtually.

Ask us how to bundle your courses and save!

Step Four: Prepare for Your Licensing Exam

The REALTOR® Academy offers an exam prep course to help you get prepared to pass your Licensing Exam. Take the course online here.

Step Five: Pass the Licensing Exam

Once you receive your approval letter, 10 digit TREC identification number, and information on how to access the Candidate Handbook from Pearson Vue (TREC’s exam administrator), you must sign up to take the national and state exam at any of the three Pearson Vue Professional Center locations in the San Antonio area. You may also call Pearson Vue at 800-997-1248.

Step Six: Choose a Broker to Sponsor Your License

You must be sponsored by an active Texas licensed broker to work. Once you have an active Texas licensed broker sponsor you, your active license will be issued. You can complete a sponsorship request using TREC’s online services. Once the broker has accepted your request, your active license will be issued, and you can work as a Sales Agent!


Note: Our blended learning courses combine at-home study and instructor-led classroom lessons with chapter quizzes and a proctored exam. The classroom portion of the course is 15-hours. The final (closed-book) exam is proctored and graded at the end of the last day in the classroom. Students are expected to spend 15-hours studying the material independently of the classroom lessons. Students must attend all classroom hours and complete all chapter quizzes in order to take the final exam and complete the course. Exams are proctored using a virtual proctoring system. Hardcopy or eBook textbooks, and one attempt of the exam is included with the cost of each course.

Questions? Click here.